HomeNewsFrom the Hill /  108th GENERAL ASSEMBLY IS IN SESSION
Leadership For Senate, House PDF Print E-mail

On Tuesday, January 8, the Tennessee General Assembly convened at noon to begin its three-day organizational session. The purpose an organizational session is to choose the leadership of both bodies, elect the constitutional officers (Comptroller, Secretary of State and Treasurer), elect the members of the Fiscal Review Committee, announce the members of the various committees, and adopt temporary rules. One of the rules adopted by the House limits each member to introducing only fifteen bills each. This limitation, however, does not apply to local bills and administration bills. On Thursday, January 10, both bodies then adjourned until Monday evening January 28, when they will convene in a joint session to hear Governor Haslam’s State of the State address.

Senate Speaker and Lt. Governor Ron Ramsey and House Speaker Beth Harwell were both overwhelmingly reelected to another term in their respective positions. In the Senate, Chattanooga Senator Bo Watson was reelected to the position of Speaker Pro Tempore. In the House, Chattanooga Representative Gerald McCormick was chosen to be majority leader and Clarksville Representative Curtis Johnson was elected to replace Jud Matheny as Speaker Pro Tempore. House republicans elected Williamson County Representative Glen Casada as their caucus chair while the democrats reelected Nashville Representative Mike Turner to head their caucus. In the Senate, Collierville Senator Mark Norris was reelected to his fourth term as majority leader and Bill Ketron of Murfreesboro is the caucus chair. Democrats chose Memphis Senator Jim Kyle as their minority leader and Lowe Finney as caucus chair.


Copyright © 2017. County Officials Association of Tennessee. Designed by Liberty Webs